Day 23: Through His Will

3 08 2010

John 5, 6, 7

Everyone struggles with the concept of “I can’t do this” and you are right in thinking so.  Time after time, we are reminded that it is not on our own accord that we can accomplish our ascent into heaven.  But as Christ reminds us that it is through Him that we can come to the Father, he eloquently reminds us that He is also not here to do this on his own.

As a man, Jesus had the temptations and urges that man faced, but through God, He prevailed.  He reminds the disciples as well as the thousands that followed Him for his sermons that it is through God’s will that this was all possible.

19Jesus gave them this answer: “I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does. 20For the Father loves the Son and shows him all he does. Yes, to your amazement he will show him even greater things than these. John 5:19-20

30By myself I can do nothing; I judge only as I hear, and my judgment is just, for I seek not to please myself but him who sent me. John 5:30

44“No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws him, and I will raise him up at the last day. John 6:44

Ultimately, this had all been cleverly planned by our Father, lessons, trials and all – for us to understand that it is not through any of our human strengths and will, but by God’s divine plan – even for his own son, Jesus Christ.

Dear Lord, as I continue to meditate on your word, it becomes increasingly clear that none of this can be done without you.  No matter how much we push you away, because you have chosen us to be your children, we are gently reminded by your graciousness.  Help me to stay steady in your Word, that I may truly seek peace and acceptance of my salvation. Amen.