Day 46: We Are Dead

26 08 2010

1 Corinthians 15, 16; 2 Corinthians 1

Do you get that your life here on this earth, is a dead life that you are catering to?  When I think of it this way, it makes me wonder why we satisfy our earthly and human desires and crave for that earthly and fleeting satisfaction – when we can exchange it for eternal glory?  This is how the Corinthians were behaving – so Paul addressed this in his letter.

33Do not be misled: “Bad company corrupts good character.” 34Come back to your senses as you ought, and stop sinning; for there are some who are ignorant of God—I say this to your shame. 1 Corinthians 15:33-34

42So will it be with the resurrection of the dead. The body that is sown is perishable, it is raised imperishable; 43it is sown in dishonor, it is raised in glory; it is sown in weakness, it is raised in power; 44it is sown a natural body, it is raised a spiritual body. 1 Corinthians 15:42-44

50I declare to you, brothers, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God, nor does the perishable inherit the imperishable. 1 Corinthians 15:50

56The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. 57But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. 1 Corinthians 15:56-57

58Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain. 1 Corinthians 15:58

This is how Paul explains that the dead will be resurrected – so build your treasures in heave – not on this earth.

Lord, I know that you are enough for me.  Let earthly desires subside and be deemed unimportant.  While I have noticed a decrease in my desires – I’m not sure that it is due entirely to turning against my sinning ways, but as a means to an end.  Help me to truly open my eyes and comprehend that your instructions are clearly written for us to follow.   Allow me to continue studying your words and applying your words of edification and love into my own life. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.