Day 50: Aim for Perfection

30 08 2010

2 Corinthians 13; Galatians 1, 2

Paul was an amazing man of God.  In his various letters to the churches of his time, he guides, teaches, rebukes and corrects.  In reading 2 Corinthians and then the beginning of Galatians, it’s apparent of his fervor for Christ.  He explains in his 2nd letter to the church of Corinth that we as men are weak but it is through that very weakness that makes us stronger in Him.

4For to be sure, he was crucified in weakness, yet he lives by God’s power. Likewise, we are weak in him, yet by God’s power we will live with him to serve you. 2 Corinthians 13:4

But don’t be discouraged by your weakness.  It should encourage you to aim for perfection.  In fact, Paul instructs the Corinthians to examine themselves, to see if they are in the faith.  I know that when I reflect on the choices I make post acceptance of Christ, I get discouraged.  I’m still tempted and still have distractions in my life.

6And I trust that you will discover that we have not failed the test. 7Now we pray to God that you will not do anything wrong. Not that people will see that we have stood the test but that you will do what is right even though we may seem to have failed.  2 Corinthians 13:6-7

I try to disconnect myself from the various weaknesses of this earth that I still carry – and get disheartened.   My faith pulls at my heart strings and gives me a sense of guilt – since I should know better.  But I find that this guilt slowly weans me from my dependence of earthly matters.  Ever so slowly, I realize that certain weaknesses grow weaker and weaker every day.

19For through the law I died to the law so that I might live for God. 20I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. 21I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!” Galatians 2:19-21

Dear Lord, I am reminded constantly of my sins and transgressions.  Help me to lead a life aiming for perfection.  Through my faith, I ask you to develop a childlike heart, full of faith and obedience.  I have been crucified through Christ and I no longer live, but that Christ lives in me.  It is by your grace alone!  Thank you for this tremendous gift for we are undeserving creatures.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.