Day 38: Peace & Joy

18 08 2010

Romans 5, 6, 7

By being justified in our faith, we have the luxury of being granted peace and joy.  Think of it.  Regardless of what we’ve done, by coming and repenting before God and truly abiding by His instructions – we get to experience peace.  This, however, does not mean that we will be free of stress, pain and hurt.  Why?  Being saved does not reflect on the ease of life.  It means quite the contrary.

3Not only so, but we[a] also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4perseverance, character; and character, hope. Romans 5:3-4

Is this not true?  Isn’t suffering the root of becoming a stronger person – to persevere – to build character?  It draws upon your trust and faith in Him.  I realized this just recently.  When I had what I thought I needed (job, money, love, friends), it was hard for me to grasp the concept of complete trust and faith.  It made me quite the sad believer.  I wasn’t sure why I felt this way.  When my stability was taken away from me, my inner faith had to burst through.  It was then, that I realized that God does provide.  He provided me with a peace and joy that I will never be able explain – but will forever be grateful.

Dear Lord: Thank you for granting me peace and joy through the marvelous sacrifice of your Son’s blood.  I realize more and more that it isn’t the earthly things that provide me with peace and joy, but your grace, forgiveness and the gift of my salvation.  Thank you for loving me, even though I am a sinner, enough to sacrifice your one and only Son. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.