Day 24: He Is Our Shepherd

4 08 2010

John 8, 9, 10

One of the oldest comparisons that is recounted throughout the Bible is that Christians are sheep and Jesus Christ is our shepherd.  As he beautifully explains the unconditional love that a shepherd has for his flock, my heart stirs.  He recounts even further that there are thieves and hired hands – all to which will abandon us during hard times.

2The man who enters by the gate is the shepherd of his sheep. 3The watchman opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. 4When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice. 5But they will never follow a stranger; in fact, they will run away from him because they do not recognize a stranger’s voice.” John 10:2-5

11“I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.” John 10:11

What brought me to the bottom of my faith was reading the following verse.  It’s amazing to read and feel the love that Christ shows us everyday.

17The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. 18No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.” John 10:17-18

For this alone, I want to follow Him.  I want to believe Him.  I want to know that God has plans for me. …I do.

Dear Lord, your Word, powerful and amazing, recounts time after time that your love is true.  Lord, keep me from wandering away from you today.  Help to me to realize that you’ll keep me safe and provide everything I need if I’ll just stay close to you.  thank you for love me in Christ my Lord. Amen.