Day 49: Generosity

29 08 2010

2 Corinthians 8, 9, 10, 11, 12

What exactly does generosity mean to you?  Chapter 8 begins with a heading that says: Generosity Encouraged.  In this chapter, Paul goes into an explanation in his 2nd letter to the Corinthians that their generosity is encouraged.

8I am not commanding you, but I want to test the sincerity of your love by comparing it with the earnestness of others. 2 Corinthians 8:8

11Now finish the work, so that your eager willingness to do it may be matched by your completion of it, according to your means. 2 Corinthians 8:11

24Therefore show these men the proof of your love and the reason for our pride in you, so that the churches can see it. 2 Corinthians 8:24

Then, chapter 9 has a heading that says: Sowing Generously.

6Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. 7Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. 2 Corinthians 6-7

Generosity in short is the surpassing grace God has given to each of us.  By exercising our generosity – that was bestowed on us who were undeserving, we show others the true power of love – the most important of God’s spiritual gifts.  By showing generosity, we show that we recognize our undeserving worth.

15Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift! 2 Corinthians 9:15

Dear Lord:  I praise you for the indescribable gift of generosity.  I realize more and more in my development of faith, just how undeserving I am.  Yet, you covered me in your generous and awe inspiring love and forgiveness.  Help me to exude that in my own personal actions – so that others may truly see your work in me.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.