Day 28: The Instruction To Repent

8 08 2010

John 20, 21; Acts 1, 2, 3

This past week was a bit difficult when it came to nourishing myself spiritually.  I felt this sense of laziness which I couldn’t explain.  Catching up has been difficult to do because it feels like I’m needing to hurriedly finish my reading.  I pray that I don’t let “life” distract me from what I should want to do everyday.  I’ve asked the assistance of my great small group to keep me in their prayers when it comes to my diligence and enthusiasm.

As I was reading yesterday’s (Sunday’s) chapters, I was left with a very powerful concept.  Near the end of Acts, chapter 2, Luke (the author) recounts when Peter addressed the crowd with what the people had done.

36“Therefore let all Israel be assured of this: God has made this Jesus, whom you crucified, both Lord and Christ.”

37When the people heard this, they were cut to the heart and said to Peter and the other apostles, “Brothers, what shall we do?”

38Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. 39The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off—for all whom the Lord our God will call.” Acts 2:36-39

Repent.  Come before Him, kneel and ask for forgiveness of my sins.

I recognize my sins and the extent of my sins daily and pray to cast them aside. I struggle with leading a worldly life.  I struggle with having worldly thoughts, desires, and achievements.  At the same time, I notice that the grip isn’t as tight anymore.  I find myself slowly embracing and understanding what the Scripture’s instructions are.  I know I need to repent.

19Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord,” Acts 3:19

Repent and then turn to God. This is what I will strive to do.

Dear Lord, as I continue to read your Word, I am reminded of my weaknesses but also of the magnitude of your love.  I ask that I can find comfort in your Words, that I do not approach with cautiousness but in full embrace.  I ask that you grant me a repenting heart, to break down these walls of pride (or whatever is left of it) and truly turn my eyes towards you.  I know what to do and yet, I struggle with what I actually do.  Forgive me Lord, for my inequities.  In your name, I pray. Amen.