Day 36: It Takes Courage

16 08 2010

Acts 27, 28; Romans 1

Faith takes courage.  I know this to be true.  It is also the hardest thing to muster up in the face of hard times.  When things go awry – I admit, cowering in my fear and uncertainty seems easiest.  However, this is exactly what we need to stray from – learn how to channel the fear of unknown and to beat that fear through perseverance.

22But now I urge you to keep up your courage, because not one of you will be lost; only the ship will be destroyed. Acts 27:22

When you think that all is lost, do you turn to panic and fear or to the comfort of His promise?

25So keep up your courage, men, for I have faith in God that it will happen just as he told me. Acts 27:25

The next doubt that I follow in thought is “How do I know that this is what God wanted to happen?”  As I read Paul’s final statement to the Romans, I was ashamed that this is how I approached my faith as well.

25They disagreed among themselves and began to leave after Paul had made this final statement: “The Holy Spirit spoke the truth to your forefathers when he said through Isaiah the prophet:
26” ‘Go to this people and say,
“You will be ever hearing but never understanding;
you will be ever seeing but never perceiving.”
27For this people’s heart has become calloused;
they hardly hear with their ears,
and they have closed their eyes.
Otherwise they might see with their eyes,
hear with their ears,
understand with their hearts
and turn, and I would heal them.’[a]

28“Therefore I want you to know that God’s salvation has been sent to the Gentiles, and they will listen!”[b] Acts 28:25-28

Dear Lord, Soften my heart so that I may see with my eyes, listen with ears and understand with my heart.  I realize so many of weaknesses and I humbly submit them to you for guidance.  I struggle in overcoming these man made doubts in exchange of your glory.  I seek your name and your promise.  Thank you for all that you provide. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.